FGCU Basketball: Women top Eckerd in exhibition

16 Nov

Myrlande “M.C” Charelus

mcharel@eagle.fgcu.edu

FGCU Basketball: Women‘s Team won its Exhibition over Eckerd

The Florida Gulf Coast Eagles women’s basketball team won their first home game over Eckerd College Saturday night. The Eagles finished the game with a score of 68-50, including 10-three points shots.

Senior guard Courtney Chihil, 5-foot-8, led the game with 14 points, two assists and three rebounds. Senior Forward Sarah Whitfield scored 12 points and had four rebounds.

Senior guard Nicoya Jackson, 5-foot-6, also scored seven points, had seven assists and picked out six rebounds.  Jackson, who wants to continue playing basketball after college, said she definitely did not meet her expectations.

“I am getting better and I have a feeling we’re going to the championship game again, but this will require a lot of effort,” said Jackson.

As for the rest of the team, the coach, Karl Smesko, was not so happy. Junior guard Shayla Ball, 5-foot-11, a transfer student from Hillsboro, Ore. played for four minutes but did not score any points. Ball said, “We won the game, but we have higher expectation; we didn’t meet our goal which is 10 rebounds or more for each and every game we play.”

After graduation, Ball wants to play basketball overseas. “What we’re longing for is to make it to the NCAA conference tournament, which will be the first for the team,” Said Ball.

While some seniors sat on the bench for the entire game, Whitney Knight, a freshman who plays guard for the Eagles, scored eight points and made some great passes.

One of Knight’s fellow teammates said, “Whitney did a really good job and has lots of athleticism that will help the team.”

Another freshman to be on the lookout for is Anthi Chatzigiakoumi, who is from Greece. Ball says she is a great player with much athleticism.

5 Responses to “FGCU Basketball: Women top Eckerd in exhibition”

  1. Dane T. Etheridge December 14, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Any ideas of what I can write about? What would you be interested in reading? And how can I get people to see it?.

    • mcthewriter December 15, 2011 at 7:28 am #

      I mean, I can’t really give you a topic to write about. Just write about what speaks to you, what interest YOU and you should be fine… and I’m not sure who how people can see it, I just bog and people find me..

  2. diablo 3 beta download April 29, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.

  3. test1234 May 1, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing blog!

  4. baby carrier backpacks December 28, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    What’s up friends, good post and pleasant arguments commented at this place, I am truly enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

