My Biggest Regret: A Young Girl’s Life in Haiti

13 Jul

By Myrlande “M.C” Charelus

mcharel@eagle.fgcu.edu

Port-au-Prince, Haiti— For those of you who are keeping up with my blog on WordPress, friends with me on Facebook or are following me on Twitter; I constantly talk about her, so you might have read about little Blondina a lot. Blondina is a little girl I have connected with from day one, ever since I started working in Haiti. At first she was my long lost sister from another mother; but then I started to treat her like she was my own daughter and sometimes, we even have the same approach toward certain things.  Below is an article, updating you about her current living condition in Haiti.

Blondina Verney was abandoned by her mother, Linda Pierre, when she was five years old. According to Martine Decius, her foster parent, she was later dropped at a neighbor’s house, where Verney wouldn’t eat unless the people around the neighborhood would cook and hand her something.  Two years ago, Pierre’s brother found Verney and brought her to “Tree of Life”, an orphanage situated in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.  “Tree of Life” is a home that accepted children from newborns to 18-years-old who were either orphans or whose parents couldn’t take care of them.  For children whose parents are capable of sending them to school, a child is supposed to be able to attend school by the age of three; but in Verney’s case, she had never been to school until she started school at “Tree of Life” at the age of five.

Without a visit from any other family member before, Pierre and her brother came to visit Verney in March for the first time in two years. Verney, who didn’t recognize her face, had to be told that she was her biological mother.

“I did not think her mother wanted her; because you just can’t treat your kid, your one and only daughter THIS way. It just doesn’t make any sense,” said Decius.

Verney is now seven years old. “Tree of Life” has been her temporary home for two years.  Even with the help of “Tree of Life”, it has been an obstacle for Verney to learn from school. At seven years old, Verney still doesn’t know how to read and write.  She can’t even write her own name. Due to lack of funds, “Tree of Life” had to close its school’s doors so Verney had to stop going to school, although she struggled to learn anything.

With “Tree of Life” closing its doors, World Wide Village’s (WWV) summer 2012 interns had stepped in to find better orphanages for the remaining children. Decius contacted every child’s parents, including Verney’s parents. In less than an hour, the same morning Decius contacted everyone, Pierre was already at “Tree of Life,” ready to sign the papers so Verney could’ve been transferred to other orphanages.

“It’s just amazed me how quick she got here, but she just went for almost two years without seeing Blondina,” said Decius.

Pierre has not seen Verney since last March. And so, it was no surprise when Verney didn’t recognize her own mother. When Verney was asked who the lady was standing in front her, “I don’t know” said Verney.

Pierre, who wears a wedding ring on her left finger, is apparently married, and has two other boys with Verney as the only girl and the oldest child.  Pierre, her husband, who is not Verney’s father, and their two boys live in Canaan, a tent city that was founded after Haiti’s devastating earthquake. Decius believed that Verney father had passed away since he has never been to the orphanage. When asked about Verney’s father,

“He is alive, living in Au Cayes,” said Pierre.

Pierre and Verney’s father had broken up just a month before Verney’s first birthday. Verney’s father tried to reconnect with her, but Pierre refused his offer.

“He has asked several times.  He wants to meet her but I don’t want him to.” said Pierre.

When Pierre was asked about the relationship between her and Verney’s father; she said she did not want to talk about it.

Earlier this month WWV’s interns, Decius, and Pierre visited Foundation for the Promising Children of Haiti, (FPCH).  FPCH is a nonprofit organization founded in 2000, but became popular after the earthquake in 2010.  They provide assistance to children and families struggling in terrible poverty.  Pierre decided not to transfer Verney there, but instead, decided to bring her home and live with her two brothers in Canaan.

“I don’t want to give Blondina back to her, I just know if I do, her life is over… all I want is a future for her; but going back to her mother, she won’t get that” said Decius.

On Sunday afternoon, July 8, 2012, WWV was contacted by Decius and informed that Pierre had picked up Verney and she is now living in Cite Soleil with her grandmother instead of Canaan. Cite Soleil is the most dangerous city in Haiti. It is a city full of gang activities and sounds of gunshots is like music through their ears. Cite Soleil is not a place anyone deserves to live, especially a little girl.

             What we all urging everyone to do is to keep little Blondina in prayers. God moves in mysterious ways and He can turn people’s lives around. Blondina needs your prayers, each and every second. Let’s pray that God watches over her each and every second. As of right now, the only person who has a future for Blondina and knows Blondina inside and out is God.

Pray for little Blondina!

9 Responses to “My Biggest Regret: A Young Girl’s Life in Haiti”

  1. Fabula Plancher July 13, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Thats sad she’s a very pretty lil girl … Let’s keep her on our prayer god will make a way for her

  2. Wilguite Noel July 13, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    As a mother that just break my heart….I will keep her on my prayer.

  3. Alcina July 14, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    great. congratulations.http://www.locawebi.com

  4. Find Out Perfect Wedding Gown July 20, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    I am having a hard time fathoming how much research you had to do for this data, but I appreciate it and I agree. You make a lot of sense.

  5. ebay prom dress size 6 July 20, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    I¡¯m still learning from you, while I¡¯m trying to reach my goals. I absolutely liked reading all that is written on your blog.Keep the stories coming. I liked it!

  6. Franz July 20, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Very sad story I pray for her safety.

  7. Lady Gaga Gossip July 23, 2012 at 5:22 am #

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  8. places to shop for a prom dress July 24, 2012 at 6:23 am #

    Looking regarding wedded seeking single web-site, you¡¯ve go to a good option. go here after which enroll in completely free.

  9. Jocelyn Benoit April 29, 2016 at 11:15 am #

    Hello! I really think this is a great a great article in that he touches a problem that has been a concern for too long. By the way, I am a Haitian, I am a Christian, I am a student majoring in missions and I actually applied for an internship with Worldwide village. I am going to give my opinion bases on all these facts. First, as a Haitian, I think the writer, as I mentioned in the beginning, did a very good job raising something that has a been one of the biggest concerns I have regarding Haiti. I am one of those who believe that there are way too many nonprofit organization working in Haiti, and the government needs to be controlling the actions of these organizations and shut down those of them for which they cannot see any positive impact of their work. Now, among all the facts about me, the fact that I am a Christian is by far the most significant. My faith is what obcess me, not my nationalism, or my study. My faith as a christian does not allow me to go with the flow of the author. I wonder if Myrlande’s true purpose was to serve or to satisfy her wish or her love for writing. Obviously, Myrlande is someone seeking build a career in writing, so did she go to serve people or to serve herself? Because, as far as the Bible is concerned, as far as I am concerned based on what the Bible say, this is not what true Christians do. A true Christian would find a way to discuss those things, write the board of the WWV instead of publishing an article online to cause a scandal. Again this is not what true christians do; this is what activists do. Also, when God calls us to serve as missionaries, it is it is most likely going to be out of our comfort zone. Myrlande talks about two other interns who discontinue their internship and left before their term; well, what were they expecting? We cannot go to serve where God calls us with our own expectations, it just won’t work; we have to be relying on Him. If they came as servants I doubt that they would feel the need to leave. God does not call anyone to save the worl, He calls us to serve the world . When it comes to saving the world, that is His work. This is not in our power. My other concern irticle is that the author barely (if any) mentions any good thing that that WWV did while she was there; this is mainly the thing that cause me to question the reason why she went. If you only see what people do wrong, it makes sense to me to wonder whether God spoke to you, because this not our Christ see us. He sees the things in us that make us like Him. I know many people are not going to be agree with me, maybe even saying things they do not know, but just so you know, I do not know anyone at WWV and I have never been there; I am not defending them in no way; I have no interests whatsoever to take their side. All I know about them, I learned through the web. And, as a Christian, a Haitian, a missions’ major who has applied to intern with them, I have to say unfortunately that this article did not convince me to reconsider or discontinue my application. I did not hear Christ speaking through the article. Congrats to a Haitian sister who writes tremendously well. I pray and and hope your career is blessed with success. And to those reading my comment, please respect my right to disagree with what I read. Thank you! God bless you all.

Leave a Reply

