My 2012 Year Timeline

1 Jan

By: Myrlande “M.C” Charelus
Mcharel@eagle.fgcu.edu

My 2012 Year Timeline

photo Conventionally, this is the time that countless people are taking to reflect and write about their 2013 resolution. While some are contemplating about taking a leap of faith by shifting to a new chapter or losing weight, others are just grateful for everything that they have been blessed with. On the other hand, there are also people who are updating their statuses with the negative experiences they had during 2012, but I opted out and prefer to focus on the positive aspects of 2012. Although I lost a few family members that were dear to me like my uncle, my mom’s only brother, I didn’t expect life to be sweet all the time. Thus, complaining about it won’t bring back what I lost or make me feel better. The only positive thing I can do is to move forward. That’s what I am going to do!

I have nothing to complain about regarding 2012, but I am expecting 2013 to be better. This will require me to put forth the effort to ensure that it is. I turned 24 years old this year, I really thought this was the end of the world, (I’m not talking about December 21th). I was always the oldest around my friends, I felt so old. The night before my 24th birthday, I wanted it to be the longest night ever; unfortunately, it was normal. I majored in Theatre; people know how dramatic we can be sometimes. Well, that was me when the clock hit midnight, on October 15. But then I sucked it up and moved on with life. After all, age is just a number right? (I hope).

I made some great move in this year. When I say I have nothing to complain about, I really don’t. I was too busy counting my blessings; I didn’t have time to think about what should have been “this”, what should have been “that”. This summer I spent three months in the motherland, Haiti, working as an intern. Man, when I tell you I had the time of my life? The people, the food, the music, and the experience itself…. I couldn’t ask for a better summer.

I have been schooling for quite a while in the States. I have attended countless leadership seminars and I really thought I was on point when it comes to networking until I went to Haiti. I met more people in three months than I did during my years as an undergrad. I learned not to take things for granted. While I’m throwing food away, whether it is in Haiti or anywhere else in the world, someone else has to go to sleep on an empty stomach. I never knew how strong I was until I had to be on my own for three months; and yes, I succeeded!

Going to Haiti was not the only great thing that happened to me this year. I received a major in Theatre with a focus in playwriting and a minor in journalism with a focus in photojournalism and writing. I am the first one in my family to earn a bachelor’s degree. I am honored to have my parents who supported me from day one until the end of my undergraduate studies. There were moments where people wanted to bring me down and persuaded me to change my major by preceding to ask questions such as: “Why are you majoring in Theatre or journalism?” “How are you going to make any money?”At the end of the day, it came down to if my zest to pursuit a higher education was for them and if they contributed financially towards my tuition. Neither one was a fit, so my decision was solely based on my happiness. I don’t want my career to be a misery or to have dull moments because I was satisfying everyone else; I want to enjoy every minute of it. Trust me, I will.

On my free time, I like to write screenplays, blogging or singing. Let’s not forget my hobby, photography. I enjoy every minute of it. I love what I do and the customers, of course. You never know who you’re going to deal with and everyone always has a story to share; that’s where the true excitement is. I am broadening my level of expertise within the field, whether it is photography or journalism. I currently work as a freelance journalist for Amour Creole Magazine. Given that I just graduated from college, what else can I ask for?

Nonetheless, I am optimistic about 2013. I know and I can feel it. In addition, I am surrounded by positive people who want the best for me. These people are always there for me to push me to the finish line. I know I will stumble along the way, but without struggle there is no progress As Frederick Douglass once stated. This year was just the beginning of me, and 2013 will get even better. I plan to attend Carnegie Mellon University for grad school in Pittsburgh, PA, to receive my MFA in Dramatic Writing. My plan B is to attend Howard University in Washington, DC, and receive masters in Film. Either school will do it for me.

I thank God for an amazing year, I couldn’t ask for a better year. I couldn’t forget about my family and friends who supported me. Happy new year, everyone! Let’s all be positive!

Cheers…..

wahoo

One Response to “My 2012 Year Timeline”

  1. Jose Lakers Plancher January 1, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    Great blog, we all should reflect on the positive things that happened in 2012 instead of the negatives

Leave a Reply

