The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – Moving back Home after College!

12 Feb

534361_486108968095236_1290508778_nGoing off to college was a dream come true for me; not necessarily because I wanted to have ‘freedom’. But, simply to be on my own! I wanted to experience the “real world”. I wanted to learn and grow, just in case something ever happened to my family, I would be able to function without feeling helpless. Being that my parents provided and did everything for me, I wanted to know how it felt to do for myself, on my own.  Believe me, I was nervous about the lifetime decision I was about to make. However, I was ready.

Prior to moving, I was always with my family; being apart for no more than three days. For that, I moved about 45 minutes away from home; so that way they can come see me or whenever I was hungry or needed something, I could drive home. I loved it! I was able to live on my own without feeling away from home.

Shortly after graduation I decided to move back home. I had various reasons why I decided to embark on this ‘journey’:  to save money for grad school; I did not have to worry about rent, food, or have to cook, (no one cooks better than his or her mother) and so forth. The only bill I had to worry about was my phone bill, “perfect” I said to myself. I mean, how bad can it be? I’m grown now; I adapt my own rules, my parents should understand my new “way” of living, right? Ummm, I’ll let you debate on that one.  First off, I live with my Haitian parents who are super conservative; my mother being the most conservative HAITIAN I know.

The ugly on moving back home is not having my peace when I need it. I have two young brothers; seven and nine years in age. I also have a younger sister who is 20 years old. And of course, my Haitian mother– anyone who’s Haitian can relate. They can take a small situation and blow it out of proportion; Haitian mothers can talk for days!  I guess I forgot about the fact that she was younger when I left home and now she is much older which makes a huge difference; my mother is 45 years old, she’s not that OLD; however, she can talk as if she is 60 years old.

Although I am saving money by being home, I am facing a lot of problems. I have to re-adapt on how to live with others; especially my family. While staying on my own I was not restricted to a curfew. Moving back home I had to make certain accommodations. Although curfew was never discussed, I knew as a female, what time I needed to be home and what time was a no-no to show up under my parents’ roof. I knew that showing up at 2:00 in the morning was inappropriate and unacceptable by my conservative parents.

Well, when it comes to moving back home, thinking about the good, the bad and the ugly are must. There can be a lot of benefits; I save money and when I come home from work, I don’t have to worry about cooking. But, and but I gave up on a lot of things and gain up some more. I hope this blog help you, somehow.

One Response to “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – Moving back Home after College!”

  1. Herline valcin May 17, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    Wow..this was very helpful to read… I’m about to be in the same boat as you..I will be graduating college on May 23, 2013 with my undergrad bc in criminal justice.. I stayed of campus for 4years ..(I’m from New Jersey ) which was an hour from my house but still it was the best idea to stay on campus…and now I have to moved home with my extra Haitian parents that I’m so not used to living with anymore..I have follow their rules again, because you can’t come to a haitian parent household at 5am lol …But as you wrote I will benefit alot by saving money for grad school, my own place etc..

Leave a Reply

