My New Beginning

8 Aug

580089_4470813812854_657485406_nThe time is finally here for me- no I’m not getting married nor am I engaged; however, I am starting a new life.  At the beginning of the year, I wrote a blog post, stated this was going to be “my year.” Well, it has been a great year for me and it is just getting better! I wrote the post, not knowing what to expect- but I was ready for a new beginning- I was ready to try new things- to be more open-minded. So far, I have nothing to complain about 2013. I am one the most fortunate women on the planet- God has been so good to me and I couldn’t ask for more, unless I wanted to be more selfish than I already am.

I usually have a plan or a to-do-list for every month- I like to know ahead of time what I am going to do. But, after I graduated last year, I really did not know what or where I was going to be. I knew I wanted to attend grad school; waiting to hear back from the schools I applied for- I was dying slowly. I knew in order to achieve anything on the fields I studied- Florida wasn’t the place for me. I applied to Carnegie Mellon University and Howard University. Carnegie was a school I dreamt of attending. I have never been to Pittsburgh- However; Carnegie was calling out my name. After three months of waiting, I didn’t get in to the program I applied for, which was MFA in Dramatic writing. I was crushed! I didn’t know where else to turn- especially when there are less than 10 schools in America that offer MFA in Dramatic writing. I knew I had to come up with something fast, especially if I wanted to attend school later on this year.

263637_2222903376498_5112439_nI majored in Theatre and I have received a minor in journalism. I knew I wanted to get my masters on something that’d combined both my major and minor; I love both and I wasn’t ready to give up one for the other. So that’s how I ended applying to Howard University.  I applied to the school of Communication- MFA in Film. I thought everything was over for me when I had found out that they have lost my application package. I was hopeless- I thought school wasn’t going to happen for me this year. I started applying to a lot of jobs- only a few were calling me for interviews. Later in March, someone from Howard called me and told me they have found my application. I was in shocked. There, I started having a little bit of hope. I received a call from Howard that same week, said that I needed to resend my transcript in order to consider any acceptance- I mean, I guess what’s God has reserved for me, no one could have taken that a way. And the next day I received my acceptance letter- before I even sent the transcript. God is amazing!

I fell in love with DC in 2011 when I attended The Washington Center, I knew I wanted to move there some day, I just never envisioned when.  The most exciting part is that, not only I am moving up there- but I am attending grad school as well and at the one of the well-known schools in the country. I couldn’t be any happier. I am ready to start a new life- I don’t know anyone over in DC, but it’s OK- the power of networking will get me through. So I am asking those who pray, please keep me in your prayers as I follow my dreams.  Grad school is not a game- nothing compares to undergrad- but I am willing and I am ready to go through it.  So here, I open the door to my “new beginning”.

269867_2222933777258_4408231_n

 

Leave a Reply

