Why Choosing Howard University was one of the Best Decisions I have Ever Made

1 Sep

howard-univSometimes when things don’t work out the way we have planned them, we get mad- we scroll back to our own little world; and sometimes, some of us even blame God for not coming through when we needed Him the “most”. Well, I was going through it all back in March. I have applied to Carnegie Mellon University, one of the top schools for MFA programs. Guess what? Little girl did not get in! Boy, I was devastated- I didn’t know what I was going to do, where I was going to end up- but one thing, I never gave up- I was destined to go to grad school. I planned to attend Carnegie, one of the most expensive schools in the country; however, if you asked me how was I going to be able to cover for my tuition- I wouldn’t be able to answer. I did not know anyone from Pittsburgh, and whatever I knew about Pittsburgh was what I have learned from the Internet or from people- yet, that was where I wanted to go to school.

I applied to Howard U. few days before its deadline, just to have a backup plan, in case I did not get accepted to Carnegie Mellon. That is just to tell you I was uninterested. Another reason why I applied was because I lived in DC before- I felt in love with the city itself- there, I wouldn’t mind moved back and whatnot. Just to make sure my application got to Howard’s admission on time, I shipped it overtime; luckily me, they lost my application upon arrival. You know how they say, “ you never know what you have until it’s gone”? All the sudden I have this urge to attend Howard University. I started researching about the school-which was crazy, because no one could have located my application. I kept calling them from time to times, asked if they have found it; however, the answer was always the same, “ no we haven’t- or maybe you just didn’t send it to us”. The worse scenario, I had nothing as proof that I had sent it to them except the receipt of the money order I have bought, which was on the same envelop I sent to Howard. I was doomed!

mc cherieAs time went by, I started to give up- “there was no hope for me!” said to myself. I stared applying for all type of jobs you could have possibly thought of, if I was not in school- I might as well started bringing home some type of income. Out of the blue one day, one of the professors personally contacted me and told me they have found my application. Talking about heaven on earth? That’s exactly how I felt. The film department sent me a list of the requirements I needed to mail to them before they could have granted me acceptance, within days while I was trying to gather the documents they had asked me, I was already accepted into the MFA Film program.

I am not sure what people call miracle, but this was “my miracle” I, me, myself, MC, getting accepted to the MFA program. I did not know what to expect or where to start but at least I was going back to school- and yes! This is the school God wanted me to attend, though I didn’t know it yet. The minute I stepped in to Howard U, I felt like I was already home- the people, the culture and I felt like I was related to everyone around me. My journey started on orientation day; finally I was seated with others whom I happened to share the same interest.

Attending Howard U. makes me want to embrace my culture, even more. I was never asked or force to talk about my race, my roots- at my previous institution, I am not asked to talk about it here at Howard either- however, everyone just has this vibe to do so, I just feel the need to write and talk about it even more. I have never felt insecure about my skin color, but Howard just makes me fall in love even more with myself. Trust me, I am forever grateful to be an FGCU’s alumni- almost an all-white school, with a 70+% White-Caucasians. I received my first degree there, I graduated with a 3.66 GPA there, plus I had a full-ride scholarship, so I have nothing negative to complaint about FGCU- However, I can’t compare the education I am getting at Howard U to any school I have attended. I was always the only Black girl in my class at FGCU, everyone else was American; now, the American becomes the minority, Black or White. Everyone from my class here at Howard is from somewhere else around the globe, or different part of Africa that I have never heard before, and I love it. I love meeting new people and learning about their culture- that is exciting to me. And DC is just too amazing for everyone not to love it. Everyone has his or her style; no one is trying to be something he or she is not. And the connection to Africa is just to die for.

The students that I started the program with are the ones that I am going to finish it with; we have develop a relationship as brothers and sisters- where we all are going to stick together until this journey ends. We are going to support- in film- that is the most significant aid anyone can give. We are going to collaborate, something I have never had the chance to do at my previous institution. Collaborate is the most important aspect anyone can do in the film industry- however, in our Black community, our culture- we don’t like to do so, we don’t like sharing ideas- it’s all about competition. Furthermore, we are going to critic’s each other’s work – we are going to be tough on each other, we are going to help each and one of us to excel and most importantly, we are going to graduate!

I didn’t know why Howard University was the school God wanted me to attend- within just a few weeks in DC, I am starting to open my eyes to see what He has already has in store for me. I have learned so much in just a few days; I can only wait to see what will happen in the next three years. I know school Film is not going to be all sweet- I also know God wouldn’t give me something He knows I couldn’t handle. Before I leave you, I want you to know something- sometimes whatever you think is the best for you- might happen to be the worse- you just have to let go and let Him handle YOUR situation, he will never fail you. I am in the best place where God wants me to be!

Until next time…

IMG_6432-2

One Response to “Why Choosing Howard University was one of the Best Decisions I have Ever Made”

  1. Aimuan October 4, 2015 at 11:42 am #

    Hi,
    Lovely piece first of all. Your words have been inspiring. I am looking to start the MFA film program at Howard as well. I recently became interested in the program after i discovered that it had a core Afrocentric philosophy.

    However, the program website is scanty and has no information about tuition for international students.

    Can you please give me some information about the program tuition for international students and any contact for more information on tuition and schorlarship.

    Thank you and good luck on your studies.

Leave a Reply

