Quarter Century: MC vs. The Society

15 Oct

Today, October 15th, I turned 25 years old. Shocking, right? Clearly I don’t look like my age- I’m not sure if that’s a positive or negative thing- but yeah! I am a quarter of a century. These years have gone by so fast; I was just 14 years old yesterday. Needless to say, I am beyond grateful to see this beautiful day.  A lot of people don’t even have the chance to see their first birthday- luckily; I get to see my 25th.Image

So now that I am 25- what now? I remember growing- my friends and I would sit around and plan what we wanted to establish by the time we’re 25. Some of us had different plans, but we all were thriving for something- whether it was starting a family, getting married, finishing school or even moving out our hometown. We all had a goal until we turn that quarter century.

But as I grew up, I started making my own goals- whether it was long term or short term, but my main goal was to be in grad school by then-which I am. School was always my priority and still is. Also, as I get older, I start seeing the problematic in our society- how we let it affects us. Yes, we have these goals for ourselves- whether we admit it or not- so is the society. It has its own goals for us, as well.

We might want to do this or that- however, according to society, especially for women- they expect us to start thinking about starting a family, getting married or, having a great job. Or at least, it expects us have the rest of our lives mapping on paper. That’s what the society expects from us. But what if I don’t want or I am not ready of any of the things that are on society’s list- does that make me less of a woman?

Honestly, I just want to live my own life- determine my own future- my own space, on my watch.  At 25 years of age, I don’t feel much older than when I was 20; Yes, I make better and wiser decision- but that’s about it. I can barely take care of myself- let alone a family.  I am too busy loving myself; I am not ready to share it with a husband.  At 25, I just want to continue doing what I was doing – schooling myself to become a better me… and finishing my MFA at Howard University.

Happy Quarter of a century, to me.DSC_0255

3 Responses to “Quarter Century: MC vs. The Society”

  1. versicolorcloset October 15, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    Happy birthday doll 🙂 U look beautiful and radiant & I love your natural hair!
    There is no age limit to do or be anything; all things will happen when the time is right and when God intends them to happen. I’m glad you have your head on your shoulders and won’t let our society’s beliefs alter your views and your goals.

    Best wishes,

    A fellow Haitian blogger
    Edwina

  2. hausfrauensex18 November 11, 2014 at 3:14 pm #

    Your style is unique compared to other folks I have read stuff from.
    Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guesss I will just bookmark this site.

Leave a Reply

