2013: A Year to Remember

1 Jan

Wow! I am alive, I am breathing, I am happy and I am well!

DSC_0121

The great, late James Whitcomb Riley, an American poet once said, “ The most determination never to allow your energy or enthusiasm to be dampened by the discouragement that must inevitably come.” At the end of last year, my resolution was to make the upcoming year better than any previous years. I was willing to go the extra miles; stepped into places I never thought I would, as a way to improve myself. This year turned out to be better than I could ever imagined. I discovered how much strength I had when I had no other shoulder, but mine, to rely on.

Other than being alive, I started 2013 with a great job. I worked for Enterprise Rent-a-car. Though I lived with my parents and did not have much needs; however, I was fortunate enough to find a job right after college.  All was great, I was happy but I wanted more. I wanted a better future- I did not see myself selling or renting cars for the rest of my life. And for me to get to where I have always dreamt of was to attend grad school.

In the end of April, I was denied admission to Carnegie Mellon University. And on that same month, I learned that my application from Howard University was misplaced. I was crushed, mainly because I have only applied to two schools and it was already too late to apply for any other schools. I did not know what to do, but I stayed motivated.  For a whole month, I miserably searched for new schools, new opportunities- yet, nothing was working.  In the end of April, they have re-located my application. Within two weeks, I was granted admission to attend Howard University school of Communications. My focus is an MFA in film.

Gracefully, things were just getting better.  On Aug 17, my parents celebrated their 25th year anniversary. I have always heard  “a couple that prays together, stays together”- based on what I have experienced through my parents, it is true. I was more than fortunate to raise by a family who loves me unconditionally. My parents are not rich, but I can’t ever remember a time where I didn’t get what I needed. They struggle each and everyday- so I can have a better tomorrow.

On Aug. 23, I began my journey at Howard University. I left my family in FL and embarked to a place where I knew no one.  I never expected it to be easy, I knew there was going to be plenty of times where “mommy and daddy” were not going to be around when I needed them, but I was ready. Life is all about making sacrifices, taking the big steps that everyone is avoiding- that’s me. One great thing that keeps me going is being optimistic. I struggle everyday- nevertheless, I am always hoping for a better tomorrow.

The year of 2013, I discovered so much about me that I knew so little about. I always knew I was a writer, I was destined to write; nonetheless, I never pushed myself as much I needed to. I completed my first feature, a 90-pages script in one semester. This, itself, was a huge accomplishment for me. I ended my first semester with all A’s. I was enrolled in five classes- it was a challenge; most importantly, I did overcome it.

I have nothing to complain about 2013; I can only hope that 2014 is going to be even better. I am beyond ready. I am as twice motivated than last year.  The only person who motivates me, also who stands in my way is myself. Before I go, I want to leave you with this quote by Greg Anderson, “ Let us be about setting high standards for life, love, creativity, and wisdom. If our expectations in these areas are low, we are not likely to experience wellness. Setting high standards makes every day and every decade worth looking forward to”. Happy New Year, readers- I pray that your 2014 is better than the years before.

IMG_5238

What were some of your accomplishments in 2013, and what are you looking forward to in 2014?

Leave a Reply

