My New Year’s Resolution: Self-concentration

4 Jan

DSC_0717A man who goes by the name Carl Bard once said, “ Although no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.” It is a brand new year- although it seems like it was 2010 yesterday.   Every year, we all come up with what known as “New year’s resolution”. Some people choose to take better care of themselves, to lose or gain weight, pick up a new hobby, etc.- but the reality, by the first week of Feb., some people can’t even remember what their resolution was.

For the past years, I have always had the same resolution- to start working out. It was the same thing for many years, mainly because I never took initiative.  I would say it, but I would not start working out- unless I had to attend a special event and I wanted to lose a couple pounds or to “toned-up”.  I would’ve worked out for one or two weeks, but then I would’ve fallen back- there was no motivation. Everything changed when I started grad school and working out was the only thing that kept me from pulling out my hair- there, I found my motivation. So what’s the point of coming with resolutions if we’re not going to stick with them?

So this year, instead of working on things I can’t or won’t commit to- why not work on a better me? I want to focus within. I have spent so much of my time on helping others- worrying about other people’s problems- I tend to forget about my own. This year, I want to spend times to get to know me inside and outside. I am 25 years old and I still don’t know what I want in life (excluding education). The more time I spend on getting to know who Myrlande is- the easier will it be to know her wants.

One of the main issues that I plan to focus on is budgeting. It has been a problem for years, but I could never admitted it until I had to live on my own- and had bills to worry about. I am a big spender when it comes to blazers and shoes. Lord knows I cannot say no a nice-looking, fitted blazer. I am not saying I will stop buying clothes, but instead of buying two black blazers that look exactly the same, why not get one? Well, I’ll need to get that into skull first.

Now that I am committed to fitness, going to the gym- stay fitted and whatnot- one of my biggest struggles is to focusing on my bad habits. I go to sleep late, even if I have to wake up early. I do eat healthy, I love me some vegetables; however, I eat late- one thing I realize about working out, I get hungry pretty quick, especially late at night.  Instead of sleeping five hours or less every night, this year- I am focusing on getting at least seven, and maybe eight. Along the way, instead of eating late, I am choosing to drink water, instead- in hope I don’t starve myself at the same time.

This year, I wan to draw more attention to my personal beliefs. When I was leaving my parents to DC, I worried so much on how it was going to affect my relationship with God. At home, I was obliged to read the Bible, to get involved in church. I loved the boost I received from my parents; still, I was afraid once I was on my own, I would have given up. Being in DC, where I have no relatives or friends, the only person I can depend on is Christ- with that, I have become a better Christian. Hence this year, I want to keep working on that- strengthen my relationship with God.

My family means the world to me. They have been my biggest supporters, my backbones when I could not stand straight. I couldn’t imagine life without my three siblings, my mother and father. Tough I am more than 1000 miles away from them; I manage to speak with them at least once a day. I love that! My goal is to build even a stronger and better relationship with them.

I have spent so much time doing nothing, nada, rien. For the longest, I told myself that I had to be in the “great state of mind” in order to write. I wasted so much of my time when I could have been writing. Last year, I completed my first feature film in just a few months, nothing ever felt so good. This year, instead of wasting my time on things that won’t do me any justice, I am going to spend most of my time writing, whether it is blogging, journalism gigs or scriptwriting- I am just going to write!

My first semester of grad school turned out to be better than I expected. My grades were on point; however, there is always room for improvement. I love books; besides school, I am putting a little more emphasis on reading books. I started a collection when I was in high school- just random books. These days, I buy books that are relatable to my career such as: acting, cinematography, journalism- broadly anything film relatable.

Moving to DC, I have adapted to a lot of new things, which I love- also, I have given up on a lot. Photography has always being my passion, once I moved here- school has taken almost my entire time that I kind of gave up on photography. I want to bring that part of me back, whether I am getting paid or not. I once did it or fun, and that was one of the reason I fell in love with it. I am going to be adventurous, taking a camera with me wherever I go and start shooting- have fun with it. I have becoming so anti-social lately. I never thought I was, until I turned down all type of invitations this semester, just so I could stay home. I want to put myself out there more, interacting with people, making new friends, joining an organization, etc.

I am willing to take myself to places I have never been before. 2013 was a great year, but this year, I am concentrating on making 2014 even better. I am not trying to fix any part of me, rather working on a better me.

What are you giving up or concentrating on this year?

edit-2

3 Responses to “My New Year’s Resolution: Self-concentration”

  1. versicolorcloset January 8, 2014 at 6:32 pm #

    This is so well said girl. I wrote a similar post for the new year where I mentioned that the key to a better you is simply focusing on improving every aspect of your life with each sunrise rather than setting vague goals each year, only to quickly forget them.

    I too, at nearly 27 years of age, am not 100% sure as to what I want to do with my life, but rest assured that God will order your steps if only you submit to Him and trust Him to lead the way.

    With such a very clear and concise list, you already are on the right path to be a better you for 2014. I wish you all the best so keep up the great work sweetie! 😉

    • mcthewriter February 1, 2014 at 4:58 pm #

      Thank you, my dear.. You look amazing, I really thought you were around 21 ish– I wouldn’t give you no more than 23. Beautiful, talented and educated with a baby face, lovely. Good luck with everything as well. You style is to die for. I love it.

      • versicolorcloset February 10, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

        Ha! I’m so flattered. 21?! that was years ago. Thanks a lot baby girl 🙂 You’re too kind!

Leave a Reply

