When Nights and Days become One

8 Mar

Camera1

At the beginning of the year, I promise that I was going to do monthly-posts, I am keeping that promise; boy I did not expect February to be that hectic. The month was over before I could even imagined- the good thing, I overcame it so no complaining.

I enjoyed February, and I hope you did, as well.  I started pre-production of my film on the first week of the month- meaning, holding auditions, meeting up with my cinematopher, scouting for locations, finding an editor and casting the rest of the crew. All this had to be done within a month. I was nervous, I didn’t think I was going to be able to handle it all, since this was my first, ever film that I am directing, producing and let alone it was written by me.  With the way things are going right now, I am very happy.  We are scheduling to start shooting the last week of March, as nervous that I am- I cannot wait.

One of the problems I thought I was going to encounter with was finding the right people who were willing to work with me. I am very picky when it comes to filmmaking; I like things to be made a certain way- I rather take forever to finish a project than to rush and to turn out to be a waste of time.  I am a storyteller, some people like to make beautiful films, and some make films for the eyes. I am all about storytelling- everything has to makes sense; the color, the mood and finding the right casts that can delivered the way I envisioned. So far, I have gotten everything I expected, in regard of the crew and the casts. I am looking forward to shoot.

Though everything is going just right, one thing that I could not keep up with was going to the gym. I had good reason though. Some of machines at the gym weren’t operate properly so management had to close it down for a few weeks to get everything situated. I tried to go for morning runs- let me tell you, it was no fun running on the snow. It was way too slippery; both my knees are now bruised- so that led me to take a longer break than I expected. Well, thankfully, the gym is now open and running, therefore I am going to start walking out, starting this weekend.

Lastly, lent started on the fifth of March, I actually have never giving anything for lent. I don’t really know much about it. However, this year I wanted to try something different. I have this bad habit that I have been fighting with for the past couple months, eating late. I come up with a couple good excuses every night, I even tried to buy “healthy” snacks –my problem is that I get home really late, I am in school until 9:30pm Monday-Thursday; by the time I get home around 10pm, I am starving- and the only way I can focus on doing my assignments is to eat. So now, I take my dinner with me to school. I try to eat around 6:30-7:00pm. I got temped on the first day, so what I did, I ate a spoonful of peanut butter, which I already love and drank a cup of water. For the next 40 days, I am going to give up eating late at night, I am going to exercise and try my best to eat healthy. Let’s see what’s the outcome going to be.

Next month, I am going to focus a little more on my film. I will be done shooting by then.  Have any advice for me? I am always open for suggestion.

Until next month, Happy March!

 

 Camera

What are you giving up for the next 40 days?

How did you do in February?

 

Leave a Reply

