I Found Myself by Losing Myself

1 Jul

IMG_3565-2It SEEMS like I have been slacking around; it may appear that I haven’t done much. I promised at least a post per month- I skipped last month. Not because I wasn’t aware, but I had so much going on- I had to focus on things that required much more attention than before. Now that is it all over- therefore, I can get back to my old routine.

So what has been going on? Well, enough to write a book. I haven’t posted anything since my short film came out in April. What a great learning experience- I must say? Not that I ever second-guessed myself. Based on people feedback, the film exceeded my expectation. I now know what I need to focus on for my next short or feature films. The topic I chose to write about targeted the audience and reactions I was aiming for. With that alone, I’m overjoyed. 

One thing about me as a writer, I am very open for criticism- I always want to know if what I write make sense- how does it impact others? And most importantly- if it’s garbage, I want to know. Criticism does not hurt my feeling- if anything; it will help me to be a better writer. I am the most spirited person in the entire universe; I am hardly ever in a bad mood… So when someone tells me how she or he feels about one of my pieces- that person help me to do better at what I do.  I sometimes go back to photo shoots I did in the past, sometimes I laugh, thinking how horrible I was- I have improved tremendously. I have got better capturing on better angles, and I am now a better editor, as well. All this did not happen over night- it took time and dedication. I became a better writer, a better photographer, a better editor- and now a cinematographer. I honestly did not know I could wear so many hats until I actually moved to DC.

To be a better photographer or writer, I had to get out of my comfort zone. I had to do things I had never done before- I had to visited places I thought I would have never. When I moved to DC, I had no family or friends in the area- all I knew that I was going to be attended Howard University as a grad student. I did not know any of my professors- though I have lived in DC before, I didn’t even know where Howard University was located. YOU CANNOT glue yourself in one position, doing the same thing religiously and expect different result. You have to get out of your comfort zone.

I have been paying closer attention to a certain age lately, my generation or younger. It seems like women my age are only aiming for one prize- actually two- either they are getting married or popping babies left to right. Don’t get my words twisted- I’m not saying getting married or having kids aren’t the right choice- think of it this way, nothing feels any better when one is able to give to his or her kids whatever they want. Thanks to my parents, I did not have to struggle as much compared to some. I didn’t always get what I wanted- but I certainly got everything I needed. I was a blessed kid, with amazing parents; but listen- if I’m going to have kids in the future, I would love to be able to give them whatever they want.

To get back to topic- I went back to Florida for the first time since I moved in DC. Florida was amazing, I ate as much griot as I could, and I was in my mother’s kitchen 24/7. I hung out with friends, I did a million photo shoots, I even attended Compas Festival/ Haitian Flag Day weekend. I enjoyed every minute of it- but one thing I came to realize, Florida is not for me anymore. I found out whom I really am when I moved in the DMV. Here in DC, I hang out with people whom I share the same goals- young professionals, writers, cinematographers and let’s not forget about the indie films community here. DC is everything I always dreamt of- I would have never discovered my talents if I didn’t get out of my comfort zone. I had to lose myself in order to find myself- hoping you’ll do the same for yourself before it’s too late.

IMG_3582.JPG

Have any questions? Shoot them at me…

Also link to my film is below- if you haven’t check it out- please do… Don’t forget to comment and share

Thank you-

#McTheWriter

2 Responses to “I Found Myself by Losing Myself”

  1. Batchline January 13, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

    I love your journey you make me to do better with my life thanks

    • mcthewriter January 20, 2015 at 8:35 am #

      Thank you a lot, dear… I will be posting a new post today… be on the lookout for it.

Leave a Reply

