Selected Howard University Students are in Haiti

14 Mar

MC Travels: With a purpose.

FullSizeRender.jpg

At Port-au-Prince airport

I love to travel but unfortunately, traveling requires times and money- two things I don’t have right now. Well, more like time- eventually when I’m done with school, I plan on travel the world.  I may not be able to travel much; however, greater things keep on happening.

I believe my purpose in life is to be a great photographer, filmmaker and traveling around the globe to help people, (read my blog’s bio). That was the deal and that is still.  As I get older, I only focus on things that are matter to me such as what I have listed above.

Last semester was the hardest and most stressful time of my life. I’m not a quitter and that is why I am still hanging. Long nights of study, working long hours. My days and nights were the same- all I did was work! So for this semester, I was looking to be more relax- probably shooting more shorts if I could. Yeah, if I could.

I have been looking for spring break since the first day of class. No, I am not about the party life- I just wanted to do one thing: sleep. I have classes two (2) days a week- and these two days are also my days off. I was certainly looking spring break.

About two weeks ago, my dean contacted me and asked if I was interested on travel to Haiti with Howard University. Hell yes! I was hyped! Though it was a last minute decision, I didn’t know if I was going to able to get the days off from work- gracefully I did.

It is such a huge opportunity. I had to forget about sleep. I don’t partake in any activities at Howard- I go to class, and then go home. I expect no one other than my classmates and my professors to notice me. So I was beyond surprised when my dean nominated me to attend Alternative Spring Break in Haiti.

As busy as I can be, I enjoy helping others. Because of Howard, for the next week, I will be volunteering in several places in the Port-au-Prince area- I couldn’t be happier. I am looking forward to every bit of it. Haiti, here I come!

Please check my Instagram and Facebook page as I try to update on what we are doing, daily.

Leave a Reply

