Top 100 women’s basketball recruit picks FGCU over Duke

26 Oct

Myrlande “M.C” Charelus

mcharel@eagle.fgcu.edu

Florida Gulf Coast University’s Country club atmosphere swayed Forward Whitney Knight from attending the 10th ranked basketball school in the nation, Duke University.

Coming from an athletic family, the 6’2’’ Whitney Knight, basketball comes natural for Knight. She started playing basketball when she was seven years old.  The YMCA is where the magic started. She fell in love with it and she hasn’t stop playing since then. Knight is a freshman at Florida Gulf Coast University. She is majoring in Bioengineering. She originated from Winston-Salem, N.C.,and ranks as 73 on overall best high school player in the U.S.

Ranking among the top 100 in the nation has been an honor for Knight. She has opportunity to meet with many mentors; especially people who want to help her become a better player. This has proved to be a big benefit for Knight.

How did FGCU end up with one of the best players in the country? All she needed was a visit to FGCU and there, she made up her decision.

“I made a visit, here at FGCU and I really liked it a lot,” Said Knight.  I like the campus, the coaches, the area and the basketball team; I thought I would like it a lot, basically.”

Knight also says she was committed to attending Duke, but then she backed out of her decision because she didn’t think it was a right fit for her.

Nicoya Jackson, a senior, who also plays basketball for the Eagles said, “I was surprise when I heard the news, but I mean– it’s her decision and… as a freshman, it’s a great decision to make. She is looking for playing time.”

Knight said being at FGCU she thinks the coaches will help her become a better player. As of right now that’s her biggest goal is to become better.

Her teammate, Jackson, also said, “As a freshman, she is a competitive player. After she learns everything, she’ll be fine…”

Basketball is not the onlysport Knight plays, she also played volleyball while she was in middle and high school but she didn’t like it as much as she liked basketball.

When asked Knight about her expectation of FGCU, she said she didn’t have any expectation but she also couldn’tthink of a reason for not liking FGCU, she is satisfied with everything so far. Her main focus right now is to play for the WNBA, some day.

As for FGCU, it is going well for Knight and the team is having its first scrimmage next week. Let’s hope that Knight does a great job.

9 Responses to “Top 100 women’s basketball recruit picks FGCU over Duke”

  1. P2P4U November 11, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I study quite a few weblogs and i genuinely enjoy your content material. The article has certainly peaked my interest. I’m gonna bookmark your web site and keep checking for new information and facts.

    Ha! thank you so much. I”m glad that you like it…

    • mcthewriter December 3, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

      thank you very much, glad you liked it.

  2. Wonderful work! That is the type of information that are meant to be shared across the net. Disgrace on the seek engines for now not positioning this post upper! Come on over and seek advice from my site . Thank you =)

    • mcthewriter December 3, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

      thank you very much. and I definitely will check your site.

  3. how to write a formal letter December 1, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    I was looking at your posting title Top 100 women’s basketball recruit picks FGCU over Duke mcthewriter and wondering if you SEO optimized it? I’m a beginner to blogging and my wordpress blog needs some SEO guidance. Could you kindly mail me at Dumaine@unlv.edu ?

    • mcthewriter December 3, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

      I emailed you back, hopefully you received it. don’t hesitate to ask any more questions. I will try my best to provide you with at least the closest answer, if I can.

  4. acid reflux remedies December 6, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    One of my all time favorite quotes seems very fitting here “Success is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day; while failure is simply a few errors in judgment, repeated every day. It is the accumulative weight of our disciplines and our judgments that leads us to either fortune or failure.”–Jim Rohn

    • mcthewriter December 10, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

      thanks a lot. this quote really speaks to me.. Love it…

  5. diablo 3 beta download April 29, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    I was curious if you ever considered changing the page layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a comment